Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Business and Economic History: CME Group Collections

UIC Special Collections and University Archives--CME Group Collections

The CME Group Records consist of the records from two major commodities exchanges: the Chicago Board of Trade (CBOT) and the MidAmerica Commodity Exchange (MACE). In 2007 the Chicago Board of Trade and the Chicago Mercantile Exchange merged to form CME Group.

Chicago Board of Trade

The Chicago Board of Trade (also CBOT, CBT) was founded on April 3, 1848 in a flour store attic, and continues today as the world’s oldest commodities exchange. The collection contains materials documenting the history of the exchange; its executive officers and members; its operations, including committees and departments; its rules, by-laws, and regulations; and statistical information. The materials include correspondence, reports, ledgers, meeting minutes, legal briefs, court dockets, rulebooks, visual materials, financial records, press clips, publications, transcripts, contracts, rulings and resolutions, statistics, and other documents.

MidAmerica Commodity Exchange

The MidAmerica Commodity Exchange (MACE, MidAm) was founded as “Pudd’s Exchange” in a field on the corner of LaSalle and Washington streets in 1868. The exchange offered smaller versions of contracts offered by the Chicago Board of Trade, thus allowing individuals with smaller assets to trade and gain experience before trading larger amounts. The MidAmerica Commodity Exchange became affiliated with the Chicago Board of Trade in 1986, and ultimately dissolved in 2003. The collection includes pamphlets, reports, legal files, rulebooks, annual reports, meeting minutes, contract applications, correspondence, press releases, ledgers, newsletters, notices, and multimedia. Records from the Chicago Open Board of Trade & the Chicago Rice and Cotton Exchange/New Orleans Cotton Exchange are also present.

 

Chicago Commodity Exchanges Histories

Accessing the CME Group Collections

The CME Group Collections can be viewed in the Special Collections and University Archives Reading Room on the third floor of Richard J. Daley Library. For these collections in particular, it's best to contact the department prior to visiting, as some materials may be stored offsite or restricted.

Commodity Traders - Memoirs