Online & Distance Education Guide: Get Full Text Articles

The "Finding Full Text Articles" process outlined on this page also applies to dissertations, theses, and even book chapters.

Need full text articles for an assignment that's due in 8 hours? 

Many databases have a full-text filter you can apply. This is not recommended for a comprehensive search, but if it's an immediate need (you can't wait 3 days for the article), it is an option.

Now you can request an online consultation with a librarian through the "Get Help by Appointment" form!

When you need research articles from scholarly or peer-reviewed journals, we recommend visiting a research database.

If a database does not have a .pdf or HTML full-text option, clicking on the "Find it @ UIC" icon will search the library's holdings for the full-text from another resource, if available.
(*Please note: In some cases, the UIC library only has access to the HTML full-text.)

When UIC has online access from another database or journal subscription, you can click on the link for full text availability:

When UIC does not have online access to an article, you will see a message on "How to get it" using a "Request via Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)" link:

Click on the "Request via Interlibrary Loan" link to log in with your UIC NetID and common password.

The article request form will populate with the citation information for your request. Please review the information and click "Submit Request" at the bottom of the form.

Your request should be processed within 24 to 48 business hours. Questions? Ask a Librarian