This guide outlines the steps for submitting content to INDIGO (UIC's online repository - powered by DSpace).
- You must be the copyright owner or have permission of the copyright owner to put material in Indigo.
- Many publishers will allow the final peer reviewed manuscript (post-print) to be submitted to repositories such as INDIGO, but not the publisher PDF (nor the publisher proofs). Other publishers may allow the final publisher version to be posted. Consult with your journal's archiving policies or Sherpa Romeo for publishers' archiving policies.
- Use the progress bar found at the top of the INDIGO submission screen (describe, upload, verify) to navigate between the screens. This will allow you to move back to previous screens or move forward as you are loading content.
- You may stop the submission process at any time. By clicking on Cancel/Save you will be prompted to select whether you want to remove the submission or save and return at a later time to continue. Click Next if you have entered information on a screen before clicking Cancel/Save if you want the information just entered to be saved before you exit.
- By clicking Next on the bottom of the screens, your information is saved and you will be moved onto the screen and prompted for further information.
- The Library encourages you to submit as much information as possible about the content being submitted.
- Having trouble or have a question about your submission? Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
1. Log In to INDIGO
- Once logged-in, you will be taken through a series of screens prompting you for information about the content you are submitting. This guide outlines these screens.
2. Select Community and Collection
- In the navigation area on the left, click on "Communities." (There will be many collections found within the communities.)
- Click on the specific collection within the community to which you intend to submit content. Click on "Submit to This Collection." (This button will appear only if you have permissions to submit to the collection.)
- A new screen appears.
- Note: You must be authorized by a community to deposit items to a collection. You should only see collections to which you are authorized to deposit. All University of Illinois at Chicago faculty, staff and graduate students are able to immediately submit their research to the UIC Research and Scholarship open collection. If you would like to submit an item to INDIGO, but don't see an appropriate collection or are not authorized to submit to an appropriate collection, please contact email@example.com to have your request evaluated.
3. Licensing Page
- This Distribution License states that you, the submitter, grant UIC the right to translate the submission, keep more than one copy of the submission, and/or distribute the submission by any medium.
- The License also states that the submission is the submitter’s original work, and that you, as the submitter, either hold the right to grant the stated rights to UIC, or you have obtained the permission of the owner for these rights.
- Please read the license carefully; then grant the license only if all necessary requirements have been fulfilled.
- If you do not grant the license, the submission will be cancelled.
4. Access Page
- This page dictates when your submission will become available on INDIGO. What you choose here is based on who you want to access the submission. If you are submitting an article published in a journal or a book. your selection will likely depend on the publisher and the specific publisher’s embargo rules. Some publishers allow works to be put up immediately after publication, while others have specific embargos. Check with you publisher before filling out this page. (Sherpa Romeo provides information about the archiving policies of many journals.)
- The Choose Access and Privacy Settings step allows you to restrict access to your submission if necessary. If you wish to allow open access to your submission, click "next". Providing open access to a submission does NOT mean that the copyright owner is giving up his or her rights over the submission.
- We recommend that you restrict access to your submission only when necessary (for example, if a publisher has an embargo period). Keep in mind that restricting access to your submission will block search engines (like Google) from indexing your content. This may also cause your submission to be cited less frequently than other openly available submissions.
- There are several options for restricting access to your submission. Note that you are not able to completely restrict access to items for an indefinite period of time. These are illustrated below. Note that if you restrict access to an item, you are required to supply a reason.
- Completely restricted for a limited period of time: If an item is completely restricted, it must be made publicly visible after a certain period of time. If an item is completely restricted, its metadata (descriptive information) will NOT appear in INDIGO.
- Restrict access to University of Illinois users only: Note that you can restrict access to the University of Illinois users for a limited period of time by also checking the "Make publicly visible after a period of time" and filling in the "Months until public release" field.
- Restrict access to a specified group of users: Again, you can restrict access to a specified group for a limited period of time also clicking the "Make publicly visible after a period of time" and filling in the "Months until public release" field (as seen in this example). If you select this option you will be contacted by an INDIGO staff member to create the group. This process can be expedited by preparing a list of NetIDs for the INDIGO staff.
5. Describe the Item
- On the next screen, you will begin to describe the item. The example article has multiple authors. Click the “Add More” button if you need additional text boxes for further authors.
- Enter the title and date of issue (publication date, presentation date, distribution date) and other prompted information as appropriate.
- Note: Additional boxes will appear prompting for information such as publisher and citation. You do not need to fill in all of these boxes if they are not appropriate, but it is best to fill in as much information as possible.
- Fill in the rest as appropriate. Please indicate the "Type of content" if at all possible (e.g. article, book, map). Once the appropriate information is filled in - click Next.
6. Describe the Item (continued)
- On the next page, you continue to describe your Item (Keywords, Abstract). Please fill in as much content as possible such as useful subject keywords, the abstract, sponsors. Any other additional information you be placed in the description box.
- Subject Keywords: The most helpful keywords do not already appear in the title or abstract. Click the “Add More” button if you need additional boxes for additional subject keywords.
- Description: Any other additional information may be placed in the description box.
7. Upload File(s) Page
- The next step is to upload the File(s). Click on "Browse" to access the folder the file is in. Click on the file once it has been located and click "open."
- Enter a clear description for each file (ex: Main Article; Figure 1)
- If there is more than one file, click [add another file] under the embargo setting.
- Once all of the files have been uploaded, click Next.
8. Review Submission Page
- Verify your submission on this page. If anything is incorrect, click the [correct this information] button under the section where the problem is to go back to that page.
- When everything looks good, press "Complete Submission". You will be notified by email when the item is available in INDIGO.
Having trouble or a question? Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org