Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Mary M. Case, University Librarian: Publications & Presentations

Selected Publications

“Scholarly Communication:  ARL as a Catalyst for Change,” portal:  Libraries and the Academy, 9, no. 3 (2009), p. 381-395.

“Partners in Knowledge Creation:  An Expanded Role for Research Libraries in the Digital Future,” Journal of Library Administration, 48, no. 2 (2008): 141-156.

 “Capitalizing on Competition:  The Economic Underpinnings of SPARC,” in Economics and Usage of Digital Libraries:  Byting the Bullet, eds. J. MacKie-Mason &

W. Lougee, Scholarly Publishing Office, University of Michigan Library, 2008, http://hdl.handle.net/2027/spo.5621225.0001.001.

“Opening up Scholarly Information at the University of Illinois at Chicago,” First Monday, 12, no. 10 (1 October 2007). [With N. John] 

http://firstmonday.org/htbin/cgiwrap/bin/ojs/index.php/fm/article/view/1956/1833.

"Rights and Permissions in an Electronic Edition," in Electronic Text Editions, eds. L. Burnard, K. O'Keefe, and J. Unsworth, Modern Language Association, New York,

2006. [With D. Green]

“A Snapshot in Time:  ARL Libraries and Electronic Journal Resources,” Journal of Library  Administration, 42, no. 2 (2005): 87-105. 

“Igniting Change in Scholarly Communication:  SPARC, Its Past, Present, and Future,” in Advances in Librarianship, ed. F. Lynden, Academic Press, San Diego,

2002, pp. 1-27. 

"Public Access to Scientific Information:  Are 22,700 Scientists Wrong?" College & Research Libraries News, 62, no. 7 (July/Aug. 2001): 706-709.

“Building the Global Collection—World Class Collection Development:  A Chronicle of the AAU/ARL Global Resources Program," Journal of Library Administration,

28, no. 1 (1999): 63-80.  [With D. Jakubs]

The Specialized Scholarly Monograph in Crisis:  Or How Can I Get Tenure If You Won't Publish My Book? (Conference Proceedings), Association of Research

Libraries, Washington, D.C., 1999.  [Editor]

"A National Library for Undergraduate Science, Mathematics, Engineering, and Technology Education: A Learning Laboratory," in Developing a Digital National

Library for Undergraduate Science, Mathematics, Engineering, and Technology Education - Report of a Workshop, National Academy Press, Washington, D.C.,

1998, p. 59-61.  [With P. Adler]

“Recreating Publishing for the Engineering and Scientific Community:  The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC),” in Proceeding -

Socioeconomic Dimensions of Electronic Publishing Workshop, eds. C.S. Nielsen and J.R. Herkert, IEEE, Piscataway, 1998, p. 71-75.

"Reforming Scholarly Publishing in the Sciences:  A Librarian Perspective," Notices of the AMS, April 1998, pp. 475-486.  [With J. Branin]

"ARL Promotes Competition Through SPARC:  The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition,” ARL: A Bimonthly Newsletter on Research Library Issues

and Actions, 196 (February 1998): 1-5.

"University Presses:  Balancing Academic and Market Values," ARL: A Bimonthly Newsletter on Research Library Issues and Actions, 193 (August 1997): 6-7.

"Latest Entry Cataloging Locally and Nationwide: Some Observations," The Serials Librarian, 22, no. 3/4 (1992): 335-345.  [With K. Randall]

"Rules for Latest Entry Cataloging:  Northwestern University Library Supplement to AACR2," Cataloging and Classification Quarterly, 9, no. 2 (1988): 41-54.  [With

B. Carrington, E. Janakiev, and K. Randall]

"Serials Control in an Online Integrated System:  Can Latest Entry Cataloging Help?" Cataloging and Classification Quarterly, 7, no. 2 (Winter 1986): 39-53.  [With

P. Andre, E. Janakiev, and K. Randall]

Selected Presentations

“Scholarly Communication:  ARL as a Catalyst for Change,” Celebrating the Career of Duane Webster: A Symposium on the Association of Research Libraries,

History, Accomplishments, Future Developments, Columbia University, April 25, 2008.

“Partners in Knowledge Creation:  An Expanded Role for Research Libraries in the Digital Future,” University of Oklahoma Library Conference, Oklahoma City,

March 6-7, 2008.

“Opening Up Scholarly Information at the University of Illinois at Chicago,” PKP First International Scholarly Publishing Conference, Vancouver, B.C., July 11-13,

2007.

“Embracing Electronic Collections: Issues and Challenges,” Bryant Jackson Lectureship, Illinois State University, May 11, 2006.

“Opening Access to Publicly Funded Research,” Department of Energy, Scientific and Technical Information Program, Chicago, April 26, 2006. 

“Risky Business: The Future of Scholarly Communication,” Higher Learning Commission, Chicago, April 3, 2006 (with Mary Ellen Davis).

 “Scholarly Communication in the Age of the Internet,” Association of Internet Researchers, Chicago, October 8, 2005.

“The New Crossroads: Science Librarians in the 21stCentury,” Association of College and Research Libraries Science and Technology Section Annual Program,

Chicago, June 27, 2005.

“The Library’s Strategic Plan,” Middlebury College Conference on Economic Issues “Efficiency, Journal Publishing and Scholarly Research,” Middlebury, CT., April 30,

2005.

“Increasing Concentration in the Publishing Industry: A Recent History of Publisher Mergers and Pricing in the Literature of Science, Technology, Medicine, and Law,”

Information Access Alliance and the American Antitrust Institute, Invitational Symposium on Antitrust Issues in Scholarly and Legal Publishing, Washington,

D.C., February 11, 2005.

“Moving Forward/Looking Back: Scholarly Communication—Past, Present, and Future,” National Communication Association, Chicago, November 13, 2004.

“Open Access: Is There a Way Forward,” Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers Seminar Who Pays for the Free Lunch?, London, April 4, 2003.

“Saving Science, Saving Lives: Why Choices You Make When Publishing Matter,” The Clifford C. Snyder, M.D., and Mary Snyder Lecture, University of Utah, Eccles

Health Sciences Library, InfoFair 2003, March 25, 2003.

“What’s a Library To Do?”, ACRL/SPARC Forum And Then There Was One: Industry Consolidation in Journal Publishing and What it Means for Libraries, Philadelphia,

January 25, 2003. 

"Building the Scholars' Commons," Association of College and Research Libraries Copyright Committee Program, American Library Association Conference, Atlanta,

June 16, 2002.

"Data Archiving for Animal Cognition Research: Perspectives of the Research Library Community," Workshop Sponsored by the National Institute of Mental Health,

National Institutes of Health, Washington, D.C., July 19, 2001.

"A Question of Access: Why Librarians Should Take a Role in Transforming the System of Scholarly Communication," Special Libraries Association, San Antonio,

June 12, 2001.

"Create Change: Response to a Crisis in Scholarly Communication," Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries Workshop, Chicago, October 28, 2000.

"Waking the Walrus: Creating Change in Scholarly Communication," Society for Scholarly Publishing, Baltimore, June 1, 2000.

"Capitalizing on Competition: The Economic Underpinnings of SPARC," Conference on the Economics and Usage of Digital Library Collections, University of Michigan,

March 24, 2000.

"The Future of Scholarly Communication," American Library Association, Association of College and Research Libraries, Law and Political Science Section Program,

New Orleans, June 26, 1999.

"Electronic Libraries in an Electronic Age: Challenges and Opportunities," Northwestern University Library, Dominican University, and North Suburban Library

System, Chicago, November 19-20, 1998.

"I look'd toward Birnan, and anon methought The wood began to move," Society of Scholarly Publishing Top Management Roundtable, New York City, November 12,

1998. 

"The Changing Roles in Archiving," Society of Scholarly Publishing Archiving Workshop, Washington, D.C., October 30, 1998. 

“Database Protection via License Agreements: The Library Perspective,” National Federation of Abstracting and Information Services, Members' Update,

Washington, D.C., October 29, 1998.

"Copyright and a Clear Conscience: Why Guidelines are Not the Answer," Faculty Development Workshop, Marymount University, August 27, 1998. 

"Licensing Electronic Resources," Public Libraries Leadership Institute, Arlie Conference Center (Virginia), August 4, 1998. 

“Challenges in Scholarly Communication,” (Keynote Speaker), Scholarly Publishing in the Electronic Environment: An Overview, Discussion, and Demonstration

Sponsored by the Five College Librarians Council, Smith College, May 26, 1998.

"The Librarian's Role in Establishing Building Blocks," Association of American Publishers, Professional/Scholarly Publishing Division Seminar on Licensing, New York

City, May 11, 1998.

"Recreating Publishing for the Engineering and Scientific Community: The Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)," NSF/IEEE Socioeconomic

Dimensions of Electronic Publishing Workshop, Santa Barbara, April 23, 1998.

"Building the Global Collection—World Class Collection Development," University of Oklahoma Conference, Oklahoma City, March 6, 1998.

"Database Licensing: The Users' View," National Federation of Abstracting and Information Services Conference, Philadelphia, February 24, 1998.

"In Recognition of Scholarship: Creating Our Future," Elwyn B. Robinson Lecture, University of North Dakota, January 27, 1998.

"Walking the Tight Rope of Change: Scholarly Communication in Transition," (Keynote Speaker), ACRL New England Chapter, Boston, November 7, 1997.

"Do We Really Have a Serials Crisis?" EBSCO Academic Librarians Seminar, Birmingham, May 27-29, 1992.

 “Decentralization of Serials Check-in,” North American Serials Interest Group Annual Conference Workshop, Brock University (St. Catherines, Ontario), June 1990.

[With C. Magenau]

“Latest Entry Cataloging,” North American Serials Interest Group Annual Conference Workshop, Scripps College, June 1989.  [With K. Randall]

Respondent to a Presentation by John N. Berry on "The Future of Libraries," School of Information and Library Studies Annual Alumni Homecoming Reunion,

University of Michigan, September 29, 1989.

Panelist, North American Serials Interest Group Continuing Education Seminar, Dominican College, Riverforest, IL, May 3, 1989