Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Jane Darcovich, Liaison Librarian for Architecture and Art: Home

Biography

I began my Clinical Faculty position at the Daley Library in 2012, and serve both in the Digital Programs and Services Department and as Liaison Librarian for Architecture and Art. I originally came to UIC in 1997 as Director of the Visual Resources LIbrary/Slide Library in the College of Architecture and the Arts (now College of Architecture, Design, and the Arts). Prior to that, I worked building digital image collections for Art History teaching at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and earned a MS degree in Library and Information Science there in 1997.

I  hold a MLIS and a M.A. in Art History from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and a B.A. (Honours) from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada.

Professional Service

  • Library representative on UIC Senate, 2017-2020
  • Financial Advisory Committee Chair, Visual Resources Association, 2010 to 2012 
  • Treasurer, Visual Resources Association, 2008 - 2010 
  • Development Committee Co-Chair, Visual Resources Association, 2003 - 2007 
  • Intellectual Property Committee member, Visual Resources Association, 2003 - 2008

Professional Duties and Librarianship

 

I serve as Liaison Librarian for the Schools of Architecture, Art and Art History, and Design. My work as a liaison includes collection development for Architecture, Art, Art History, Design, and Museum Studies. I also provide library instruction for both undergraduate and graduate classes in my subject areas, email reference, and individual in-person consultations by appointment.

Within the library's Digital Programs Department, I am involved with a number of digitization projects to improve access to the library's unique collections, as well as assisting with the library's digital preservation initiatives.

My research interests include improving discovery of and access to digital image collections, and collaborative resource sharing in the online environment. I am also interested in Fair Use as it applies to the use of images in higher education, and in promoting visual literacy through library instruction. 

 

Selected Papers and Presentations

"Small Things with Great Love: An Art Department - Library Exhibition Initiative." Fwd: Museums: Small (forthcoming 2017)

“Treasures in Archives: Chicago Photographs in Daley Library Special Collections.” Presented at the History of Chicago Photography Scholars Symposium, Terra Foundation, May 1, 2015.

“Benefitting from Digital Evolution: The Carberry Collection of Caribbean Studies.” Midwest Archives Conference (MAC) Newsletter, 42:4 (2015): 16-18. 

The Carberry Collection: Transformation and Discoverability.” Visual Resources Association Bulletin, 41(1), 2014. 

"Connecting Collections to Curricula: the C. William Brubaker Collection." Webinar presentation for CARLI series "Anatomy of a Digital Project". May 15, 2012

"VRA Adds Own Voice to Orphan Works Comments.” Images, The Newsletter of the VRA, April 2005, vol. 2, no. 2.

Liaison Librarian for Architecture and Art

Jane Darcovich
Contact:
Richard J. Daley Library
312-413-7677