Subject and Course Guides: Medical Biotechnology: Finding Books

UIC Library Search

Discover the world of library content

Take a look at the Search Help Guide to learn more about finding articles, books, and more.

Electronic Book Search

(BETA) Find electronic books by searching the library catalog:

More Databases

Can't find what you're looking for?

Check the Database A-Z list.

Finding Medical Biotechnology Books in the Library

To find books by title, author, or subject, search our Library Catalog.

A call number is simply a number, or letter-number combination, used to identify items in the library. There are various classification systems employed by libraries throughout the world. At the Library of the Health Sciences, the National Library of Medicine classification system is utilized. The call number makes it possible to identify and retrieve individual items in the library's collection. Here is a select list of where you can find books related to medical biotechnology and related topics.

TP Biotechnology
QL Zoology
QK Botany
QT Physiology
QU Biochemistry, Cell Biology and Genetics
QV Pharmacology
QW Microbiology and Immunology
QX Parasitology

E-books Collections

AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files.
AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.

Madame Curie Bioscience Database
more...less...
Chapters in the Madame Curie Bioscience Database come from 294 books, (4185 chapters, 60199 printed pages) published by Landes Bioscience.

Medical Letter
Independent, critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other health professionals. Also Adverse Drug Interactions system and Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy.
The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and more...(New Rochelle, NY) provides critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other members of the health professions. Also online are Adverse Drug Interactions, a browser-based program for selecting up to 12 drugs and generating a report about potential adverse interactions; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, regularly updated and now in e-book (PDF) format.

Merck Manuals
more...less...
Especially useful for its quizzes and case studies. It also provides information on various medical topics, drugs, and current medical news and has a section featuring videos of medical exams and procedures.

NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
R2 Digital Library
Provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works.
The Rittenhouse Publishing R2 Library provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works. The Library licenses two simultaneous users per book. After 15 minutes, your search session will expire, so you might want to create a login and save any results you need. You may print up to 10 sections or chapters per session. Do not attempt to download the entire contents of these books.
SAGE Reference E-Books
Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
This is a portal to over 60 topical and subject encyclopedias online.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian

LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163

LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8490

CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650

LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607

Research help

IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Medical Biotechnology: Finding Books

UIC Library Search

Electronic Book Search

More Databases

Finding Medical Biotechnology Books in the Library

E-books Collections

Ask a Librarian

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library