Community Medicine Residents: Community Resources

Community supported health care organization that provides medical, dental and social services to children of families who are unable to afford the cost of private health care.

Community Health Centers are locally-based health care clinics that provide comprehensive primary and preventive care to underserved populations, such as the uninsured, low income, Medicaid recipients, racial and ethnic minorities. In addition to primary and preventive care, most community health centers provide prenatal care, pediatrics, and chronic disease management.

Local low-cost health resources.

Program is located in the Chicago Uptown community at Heartland Health Center - Uptown and provides primary health care and oral health care for people who are experiencing homelessness, including people who are sheltered but not in permanent housing.

Pacific Garden Mission is the oldest, continuously-operating, rescue mission in the country.

Empowers families and individuals experiencing homelessness or crisis to achieve sustainable self-sufficiency.

Nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that helps people 50 and over improve the quality of their lives.

Inspiring and enabling all young people to realize their full potential as productive, responsible, and caring citizens.

Employment, training, and support services for individuals with disabilities, and other under served populations.

Broad spectrum of services such as counseling and job training to adults with economic troubles, provide affordable housing for seniors, and organize in-home care services for seniors who need help caring for themselves.

2005 directory provides information for Mid South service sites, including social service centers, medical clinics, houses of worship, public libraries, schools, parks, and local associations.

Services to individuals with developmental disabilities, mental health needs, and child welfare challenges.

Services for those who are struggling with mental illness, substance abuse emotional trauma and the aftermath of violence.

Kids Cafe program options include meal service on weekends and during the summer, so that children from low-income families have access to a free meal even when school is not in session. After-school and summer programs also provide tutoring assistance and educational activities.

Comprehensive programs, integrating housing, health care, economic security, and legal protections

Child care, family services, job training, independent living, and housing assistance.

Companionship and social interaction to isolated and lonely elders.

Helps qualifying patients without prescription drug coverage get the medicines they need through the program that is right for them. Many will get their medications free or nearly free.

This directory is compiled by the Chicago Dental Society as a reference which provides the public with quick access to information about CDS members

Clinical services are now referred to as Integrated Clinics, which include services for contraception, pregnancy testing, screening, diagnosis and management of sexually transmitted diseases/sex transmitted infections and childhood immunizations. Some services are provided on a sliding fee scale basis. Certain eligibility requirements apply and will be discussed when you call to make your appointment.

The College of Dentistry is not a free clinic. The clinic operates on a reduced fee schedule (except for the Allen W. Anderson Faculty Dental Practice). The cost of treatment provided by student dentists is lower than private practitioners, but will take longer than in most private dental offices.

Complimentary use of fitness center for all who have a doctor's prescription for exercise.

Provides information and resources that can enable people with disabilities to become as physically active

Scholarships to help people participate in programs, in addition to housing to low-income adults.Y

GoodRx features prices from 70,000 pharmacies, including the big pharmacy chains, local pharmacies, and mail order companies.

Helps qualifying patients without prescription drug coverage get the medicines they need through the program that is right for them. Many will get their medications free or nearly free.

Support low-income individuals and families who cannot afford the medicine they need to sustain or improve their quality of life. We offer over 400 different medications through our mail-order pharmacy.