Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Foundations of Clinical Medicine-1: Finding Articles

This guide organizes information for use for each of the cases for the M1 FCM course in Urbana.

Search PubMed

PubMed

PubMed is the most comprehensive database for medical literature.  Administered by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed offers a global range of medical literature that has been reviewed by librarians.  PubMed is free to the public and includes the full text to open access publications.  However, because the library has subscriptions to many of the journals that have articles in PubMed, you want to enter PubMed from a link on the library's website.  This ensures that you'll be able to link into our electronic collections.

PubMed is a very powerful database and contains more information than you need for your FCM case, but you may want to look into recent literature about your topic.  

If you want to learn more about PubMed, the library offers video tutorials and workshops and the National Library of Medicine has a PubMed Quick Start Guide.

Library Toolbox

Find books and more by searching the library catalog:


 

 

Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested via the I-Share Catalog.


Find full text

Search for E-journals, Magazines, Newspapers or E-books

Full text for a known article

Citation Matcher

Find it @ UIC

links to full text information from within library database results.


My Account

Connect to My Account in the Library Catalog


My Interlibrary Loans

UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.


RefWorks

Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with