The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
The Gene Ontology project is a major bioinformatics initiative with the aim of standardizing the representation of gene and gene product attributes across species and databases. The project provides a controlled vocabulary of terms for describing gene product characteristics and gene product annotation data from GO Consortium members, as well as tools to access and process this data.
A partnership of US, Mexican and Canadian Agencies that provide authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
NCBI is a multi-disciplinary research group composed of computer scientists, molecular biologists, mathematicians, biochemists, research physicians, and structural biologists concentrating on basic and applied research in computational molecular biology providing research through a variety of free databases.
A free archive for unpublished preprints. Like arXiv- but for life sciences.
Data Depositories for Life & Biological Sciences
AceView - Provides a curated, comprehensive and non-redundant sequence representation of all public mRNA sequences (mRNAs from GenBank or RefSeq, and single pass cDNA sequences from dbEST and Trace).
The Climate Center - The Data Basin Climate Center centralizes critical climate change datasets.
Dryad - An international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences.
European Bioinformatics Institute - The main missions of the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) centre on building, maintaining and providing biological databases and information services to support data deposition and exploitation.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility - Enables free and open access to biodiversity data online. We’re an international government-initiated and funded initiative focused on making biodiversity data available to all and anyone, for scientific research, conservation and sustainable development.
Melanoma Molecular Map Project - sharing scientific knowledge on melanoma to make the most of current research and speed up the discovery pace of novel therapeutic strategies.
NCBI Databases - National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
NeuroMorpho.Org is a centrally curated inventory of digitally reconstructed neurons associated with peer-reviewed publications
Paleobiology Database - Seeks to provide researchers and the public with information about the entire fossil record.
Protein Data bank - The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
Sage Commons - Will be used to integrate diverse molecular mega-datasets, to build predictive bionetworks and to offer advanced tools proven to provide unique new insights into human disease biology.