Essentials
Drug References
- Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKeyComprehensive drug reference solution providing quick access to current, accurate and clinically-relevant drug information.
- Drug Facts and ComparisonsLogin required. The library does not manage this resource. The link is for convenience of those who have subscriber access.
- LexicompAccess is IP restricted to COP building only. The library does not manage this resource. The link is for convenience of those who have subscriber access.
- MicromedexEducational use only. For hospital staff and clinicians, login and access through the link in the hospital portal.
- NatMed ProAuthoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.
Drug and Disease state references
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - ClinicalKeyClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified - DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- DynaMed with IsabelMedical information database of clinical topic summaries, including a grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Includes Isabel which is used by physicians to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis.
Note: If you get an authentication failed message, close your browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info. - UpToDateUpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.
- USP-NFUIC has complementary access (as of 2023) to USP-NF Online. Create and Access Point account with your UIC email to get access.
Access is limited to USP-NF. Other USP products are not included.
- VisualDXVisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety.
Note: users can also sign up for a FREE VisualDx Personal Account by clicking the Quick Registration Link below while on your institution Wi-Fi network or VPN. VisualDX Institutional Login
Access provided courtesy of the College of Medicine.
Literature Search
- PubMedPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica DatabaseDatabase in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - International Pharmaceutical AbstractsPharmaceutical and health related literature from 1970 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - Web of ScienceMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Guidelines
- DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.
As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
- Trip ProTrip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS - UpToDateUpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App. - ECRI Guidelines TrustECRI Guidelines Trust is an interactive guideline portal, puts current, evidence-based clinical practice guideline summaries directly into the hands of clinicians, researchers, medical librarians, and patients.
Note: users will have to create a free account through ECRI to view the content.
Search PubMed
Search PubMed
Librarian - Chicago
Librarian - Rockford
Cynthia Reynolds
Contact:
UIC Library of the Health Sciences - Rockford
1601 Parkview Avenue
Rockford, Illinois 61107
1601 Parkview Avenue
Rockford, Illinois 61107
815.395.5658
More Databases
Can't find what you're looking for? Check the Database A-Z list.
Find Journals @ UIC
Citation help
Contact your library liaison below
or
use these quick guides and manuals.
Refworks citation manager guide
- AMA Manual of StyleThe 11th edition of the American Medical Association Manual of Style online contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts.