Curricular and clinical tools for certification and recertification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine, backed by an esteemed editorial board. Includes videos, charts and tables at your fingertips, guidelines, textbooks and practice tests.
AccessEmergency Medicine is a complete online resource for medical education that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases with videos, reference works, images, practice tests and curricular frameworks.
AccessMedicine, an online resource, provides searchable full text of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's the Heart, The Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, selected Lange texts, Current Medical Diagnoses and Treatment, Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2002, Clinical Pharmacology and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests. The texts are frequently updated. The AccessMedicine suite also has an "In the News" section and a "Resource Center" for selected topics.
AccessPediatrics provides access to text books, atlases, videos, and other resources related to pediatrics, information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
AccessPediatrics is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. It is organized around a set of Core Topics, developed by an advisory board of pediatricians, and updated automatically.
This is an online curricular resource designed for pharmacy education that contains 24 core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
AccessPhysiotherapy provides access to textbooks, modalities, videos and other resources for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
AccessPhysiotherapy features content from McGraw-Hill texts, interactive imaging content, exclusive multimedia, and flexible curricular tools.
AccessScience provides science reference materials — online and fully searchable - with access to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, and more.
McGraw-Hill's AccessSurgery.com is an integrated online resource organized around the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) mandate for a Core Curriculum.
* Surgical Videos: Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons
* Surgical Animations: Adapted from Zollinger’s Atlas of Surgical Operations, 8th Edition
* Textbooks: Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery, 8th Edition
* CURRENT Surgical Diagnosis & Treatment, 12th Edition
* Surgical Atlas: Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 8th Edition
* Surgical Anatomy: Skandalakis’ Surgical Anatomy
* Board Review: Surgery Review Illustrated and Schwartz's Principles of Surgery: Self-Assessment and Board Review, 8th Edition
* Quick Answers: CURRENT Consult Surgery
The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy.
Open access publisher of science-technology-medicine journals; databases of controlled trials.
BioMed Central is a science, technology and medicine publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
BrowZine is a service that interacts with a library’s existing e-journal resources allowing users to browse journals in a normalized setting and create a personalized reading room of journals to follow. Originally developed for mobile devices, it is now being expanded to a web interface for laptop and desktop use. A BrowZine account is required to sync between the app and BrowZine Web.
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. ClinicalKey replaces the content formerly offered through MD Consult. To access the PDF copy, individual registration is required. Please log in or create a personal account at the upper right hand corner of the ClinicalKey home page.
It is updated daily. Searches can be filtered by content type, by specialty, by time and relevance.
Upgrade Notice: Clinical Pharmacology is being upgraded to Clinical Pharmacology powered by ClinicalKey. Clinical Pharmacology now comes together with ClinicalKey, Elsevier’s intelligent clinical search engine, to enhance the user experience. Explore the enriched, intuitive interface, Smart Search technology for top speed to answers, deep access to trusted evidence, and quick finding of relevant data for optimal productivity at the point-of-care.
Independent medical evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration
Consumer-oriented coverage of all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Consumer Health Complete is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. It includes the Clinical Reference System and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. The database is updated on a weekly basis.
Growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, bilinguals, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, and directories.
A continually growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, atlases and directories. There are bilinguals, general and specialized reference books, and all can be searched from one interface. See the title list on the website.
Database of evidence-based systematic reviews of diagnostic tests, public health, pharmacology, surgery, psychology and the health care system.
DARE contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed. Each abstract includes a summary of the review and critical commentary about the overall quality. DARE covers a broad range of health related interventions and includes over 3000 abstracts of reviews in fields such as diagnostic tests, public health, health promotion, pharmacology, surgery, psychology and the organization and delivery of health care.
Covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
With Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source™ dental practitioners and researchers now have a definitive place to start and finish their online dental literature research. This revolutionary new database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 190 journals and dozens of monographs. It includes indexing for all dentistry and oral sciences journals commonly purchased by dental schools and other related institutions. Also includes an unprecedented collection of important full-text journals, as well as dozens of full-text monographs. The collection includes 147 full-text journals, including many of the top ranked titles in the discipline.
Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase. This is the new platform for Dissertations & Theses. All CSA and ProQuest databases will be migrated to this platform.
Dissertations and Theses contains full text of doctoral dissertations from universities in the Big Ten conference (Committee on Interinstitutional Cooperation or CIC) from 1997 to present. Further, D&T provides free 24-page previews for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. The non-CIC materials are available for individual purchase.
This is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
The collection has previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. They include DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed Plus includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more. the Library/IT Assessment.
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use the UIC OpenVPN. To install, go to OpenVPN.
EMBASE is an abstract and indexing database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. It currently contains more than 15 million records from Excerpta Medica Database (1974 to present) and selected Medline records (1966-present). Currently the Library does not own the archives of Embase from 1947 to 1973.
Current answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. Can be downloaded to a hand-held device.
Essential Evidence Plus allows physicians to help keep current and answer clinical medicine questions at the point of care with the right information. A PDA version is available which includes Five Minute Clinical Consult. Podcasts of weekly InfoPOEMs are also available.
For access: Click Log In (top right) & Click to View
GAIT tutorial covers both Traditional and Rancho methods described. Detailed description and demonstration of each phase of the gait cycle including kinetics, kinematic and muscle activity. Each joint evaluated independently and in conjunction with other joints being tested. Self assessment quiz.
Gartner Research provides access to research and analysis on information technology (IT) technologies, practices, and strategies performed by the Gartner Group. The University of Illinois Administrative Information Technology Services subscribes to this database. Selected reports are available for students, faculty and staff of the University of Illinois. Off-campus access is available through the use of the VPN client. Users must log in with their enterprise IDs and password.
Gartner Research contains research and analysis done by the Gartner Group that can be used for planning, decision making, and measurement purposes for making continual process improvements towards industry best practices. It does not include Dataquest documents nor special reports. Other information is only available by request to the University's Gartner representative. Individuals needing help accessing the content should contact the AITS Service Desk.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.
Information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests). Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
This is a database that provides information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
INDIGO, provided and maintained by the Library, offers open access to the intellectual work of UIC faculty.
INDIGO provided by the UIC Library
Free access to the intellectual work of UIC is provided through INDIGO, the repository of intellectual property in digital form available online in an open environment.
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal. Note: UIC subscribes to only some of the titles in this database. To see the list of subscribed journals in JoVE, go to more.
List of subscribed titles
JoVe Immunology and Infection
Science Education 2 Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology
Independent, critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other health professionals. Also Adverse Drug Interactions system and Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy.
The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and more...(New Rochelle, NY) provides critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other members of the health professions. Also online are Adverse Drug Interactions, a browser-based program for selecting up to 12 drugs and generating a report about potential adverse interactions; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, regularly updated and now in e-book (PDF) format.
National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Limited to 30 simultaneous users.
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 12 million citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
Consumers' health information produced by the National Library of Medicine that is authoritative and up to date.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINEPlus provides health professionals and consumers information that is authoritative and up to date. MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 500 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Formerly Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. These two databases merged to form Natural Medicines providing evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine (CAM).
The mission of this collaboration is to provide objective, reliable
information that helps clinicians, patients, and healthcare institutions to
make more informed and safer therapeutic decisions.
These are E-books in Health Sciences, with an emphasis on Anesthesiology, published by Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins. Acceptable use does not permit downloading, redistributing or transfer of any lengthy portions of the E-books.
Database produced at the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to a wide range of literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, including works in psychiatry, psychology, social work, criminology, and law.
Database on reproductive health, population, family planning, and related health issues.
PopLine (POPulation information onLINE), the world's largest database on reproductive health, provides more than 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
POPLINE has numerous special features including links to free, fulltext documents; the ability to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles; and many abstracts in French and Spanish.
POPLINE is maintained by the INFO Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development.
Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. Pub Med includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Reaxys is a new structure that unifies Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry databases. It also includes journal literature (1771 - present) and patent literature (1869 - present) along with search, analysis and workflow tools.
The merger of three prestigious databases puts all the relevant data at the user’s fingertips. A search across the Reaxys database delivers a single results set and each record provides details excerpted from multiple patent or journal sources. Offering a wealth of experimentally validated information, Reaxys brings a fresh look to synthetic chemistry with powerful functionality, combined content and relevant information.
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
Login here for the new Web version. CAS SciFinder Scholar is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society.
CAS SciFinder Scholar is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society. It contains structure diagrams, names, molecular formulas, properties, single- and multiple-step chemical reactions. UIC users also have access to the Substructure Module.
Platform for a wide variety of journals and e-books across all fields of natural sciences, applied sciences and technology, and social sciences. To facilitate the browsing of titles, we have also organized ScienceDirect according to subject area (See below).
Note: Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8).
ScienceDirect is an electronic information service for a wide variety of journals and e-books across all fields of natural sciences, applied sciences and technology, and social sciences.
Scopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
Electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences, compiling protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, and others. Coverage dates 2012-2015.
Springer Protocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by experts in the field with an emphasis on both comprehensiveness and ease of use, each protocol is organized in a recipe style. All SpringerProtocols are written by experts in the field identified and reviewed by distinguished editors in their specific subject areas. Prior to publication each protocol is reviewed for clarity, accuracy, and consistency by the subject editor. UIC
Collection of searchable e-reference books includes Scientific American Medicine, the USP DI, AHFS Drug Information and Stedman’s Dictionary.
Stat!Ref is a searchable collection of electronic books, including Scientific American Medicine, the USP DI, AHFS Drug Information and Stedman’s Dictionary. It is an easy-to-use library that allows users to quickly search for information in one or multiple texts or browse individual titles.