Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Architecture: Article & Research Databases

A guide to electronic, print and image resources available for research in architecture

E-journals

Architecture Article Databases

These databases provide extensive coverage of architecture:

Google Scholar

A Google Scholar search produces results from books and academic/peer-reviewed journals.

Searching from home? Make sure to add University of Illinois at Chicago as your library so that you can connect to the library's electronic journals for free. This can be done under Scholar Preferences-->Library Links.

Featured Image: Brubaker Collection of Chicago Architecture

Presidential Towers under construction
Presidential Towers under construction (detail), 1984. C. William Brubaker Collection, University of Illinois at Chicago Library.  Image ID: bru004_05_tF


Search the entire Brubaker collection on the CARLI Digital Collections site

Search and download large size images from the Brubaker collection on UIC Library's flickr site 

Related Databases

These journal article databases cover multiple subjects including architecture:

RIBA Library Catalogue and RIBA Architectural Periodicals Index (API)

Published in print until 2013, the RIBA Architectural Publications Index (API) is now part of the online RIBA Library Catalogue, an internationally recognized resource for architecture research.  The Catalogue indexes articles from approximately 300 architecture journals from around the world, as well as books, drawings and photographs.