Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Researching UIC History: Archival Resources

Resources for conducting historical research on the University of Illinois at Chicago and its predecessor Institutions


 

The University Archives is the official repository for records with permanent historical value from the University of Illinois at Chicago dating from the establishment of the Chicago College of Pharmacy in 1859 to the present day.  In addition to the records of the colleges, departments, and campus units at UIC, the UIC Archives also includes selected professional and personal manuscripts of faculty, staff, and alumni that may be given to the University for preservation and use.

The UIC Archives is part of the Special Collection and University Archives department located at the Richard J. Daley Library and the Library of the Health Sciences–Chicago.

Search Our Holdings

For basic searching of our the UIC Archives Holdings Database

Browse the Finding Aids

UIC Archives Finding aids ordered by Record Group Number

Commonly used materials for research about the University.  The record group numbers associated with the collections below are linked to our holdings database, which also incudes a link to the finding aid for many collections. 

Note: each collection listed below is marked "RJD" for the UIC ARCHIVES-East in the Richard J. Daley Library on the east side of campus or "LHS" for the UIC ARCHIVES-West in the Library of the Health Sciences–Chicago on the west side of campus.

For assistance using these materials, contact us through the library's Ask A Librarian service.  Select "Special Collections and University Archives" in the subject box and enter "UIC Archives," the Record Group number [in square brackets below], and your specific question.  
 

Reference Files and University Records
Collections of newspaper clippings, press releases and general information about UIC.

  • University Archives Ready Reference Files  [RG# 000-00-20]  RJD
     
  • History and Development (1916-1975)  [RG# 000-00-01]  RJD
     
  • Office of Public Affairs Press Releases (1962-  )  [RG# 064-00-01]  RJD
     
  • Medical Center Press Releases (1958-1991)  [RG# 099-03-01-02-01]  LHS 
     
  • University Archives Clippings Files RJD, Special Collections and University Archives Reading Room
     

College Histories
Histories prepared by various UIC Colleges, typically celebrating an anniversary.

  • Dentistry
    UIC College of Dentistry, Diamond Jubilee, 1913-1988
      [RG# 014-00-10]  LHS
      
  • Medicine 
    ’Scope – Centennial edition, v.8 no.3, 1981-1982 
    [Celebrating the centennial of the UIC College of Medicine]
    [RG# 016-00-11]  LHS
     
  • Medical Center
    University of Illinois at the Medical Center, Chicago: Centennial Issue, 1967-1968
      [RG# 099-00-03LHS

  • Pharmacy
    One Hundred and Twenty-Five Years of Pharmaceutical Education, 1984
      [RG# 018-00-23]  LHS

Assistant Professor and University Archivist

Scott Pitol
Contact:
(312) 413-7417

UIC ARCHIVES-East

Special Collections and University Archives
Richard J. Daley Library (MC 234)
801 South Morgan Street, 3-330 LIB
Chicago, Illlinois 60607
hours

(312) 996-2742

UIC ARCHIVES-West

Special Collections and University Archives
Library / Health Sciences-Chicago  (MC 763)
1750 West Polk Street, Room 320
Chicago, Illinois 60612
hours

(312) 996-8977