Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

LHS - Peoria Newsletter: October 2015

The quarterly newsletter of the Library of the Health Sciences Peoria.

Welcome

Welcome to the electronic newsletter for the Library of the Health Sciences - Peoria. 

This page will be periodically updated with information about upcoming events, new collections, and various happenings at the Library.

Nurses Check Out This New Book

Library Learning Lab

The Library Learning Lab is designed to support the academic and research goals of the entire campus community. The Lab is open to all students, residents, faculty, and staff at UIC.

To keep pace with the changing technology environment, the Lab recently underwent a major upgrade. All new computers were installed and software was updated. To ensure that we continue to offer the most current and popular software, the Lab utilizes a Computer Lab Management program which measures software usage.

In addition to core productivity programs such as Word, Excel, and Adobe, the Lab offers a diverse mix of statistical software, multimedia and text authoring software, citation management software, and online collaboration tools.

The Lab provides access to the latest statistical analysis and modeling software including SASSPSSStataSYSTAT, and MatLab.

To increase accessibility, the Lab also provides a wide variety of Assistive Technology software including NaturalReader, a powerful Text-To-Speech program. NaturalReader allows you to listen to PDF files, webpages, e-books, e-textbooks, office documents and even printed books. Additional Assistive Technology software is available on the ADA computer station in the Lab.

The Lab offers two reference management software programs, EndNote and RefWorks to help you keep track of articles and books as you locate, tag, and annotate them, as well as easily creating bibliographies in Microsoft Word.

For a complete list of software, or if you need technical assistance in the Library Learning Lab, please contact Karen Luna (671-8488; kmluna@uic.edu).

Campbell Collections

The Campbell Collections

 

We hope you enjoy this brief video highlighting Dr. Allan C. Campbell's extensive contributions to the Library of the Health Sciences at Peoria. 

If you are interested in learning more about the Campbell Collections or other Special Collections at the Library, please visit http://researchguides.uic.edu/LHS-P_Special_Collections.

 

Contact Us

Need help navigating the vast scholarly and clinical information landscape?  Have citations without anyway to organize them?  The Library of the Health Sciences can assist you! 

Contact Us!

Phone: (309) 671-8490

Email: lib-pref@uic.edu

Visit us! 

Library of the Health Sciences - Peoria

Second Floor

UICOMP Building

One Illini Drive, Peoria, IL 61656

Hours

Like us on Facebook!

Database Review - Nursing Reference Center

Nursing Reference Center is a comprehensive reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to nurses and other health care professionals. NRC covers conditions and diseases, drug information, patient education, diagnostic details, best practice guidelines, point-of-care reference books and evidence-based care sheets.  Learn how to download the iPhone/iPad app here!